What to celebrate next…

cinco de mayo

So here’s the thing with America.  Everything is worth celebrating.

I guess it’s one of the things I’ve found to be a stark contrast between Scotland and the States.  In Scotland, we go out to the pub the odd (every) weekend for no real reason, whereas here, nights of drunken debauchery and the like have a certain amount of theme to them.

If it didn’t seem so patronising, I’d say that it’s one of most endearing qualities of the people I’ve met here.  They get into things in a way that’s difficult to compare to back home.  Nights like Cinco de Mayo aren’t just a random drinking night.  People get into it and actually make an effort that’s just not as common back home.

I thought I’d hate this kind of thing, but I don’t.

I love it.

I know Allison’s planning to go into the background and history of Cinco de Mayo on her blog, so I won’t steal her thunder, but it’s essentially a Mexican celebration at its core.  That doesn’t limit it those of Mexican heritage.  Everyone celebrates and they celebrate hard.

That means guac-offs.  That means Corona.  That means Tequila.  That means horrible morning afters.  It’s awesome.

Holidays work differently here.  No boring bank holidays, instead you get something worth celebrating.  Or at least something you can justify celebrating.

MLK Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Veterans Day and Thanksgiving are just some of the federal holidays that give you a day off.  Long weekend – take a trip.  Or just go out and enjoy yourself.

Days like Mothers Day and Fathers Day aren’t quite celebrated in the same way, but are given real notice, for instance baseball teams playing with pink bats on Mothers Day.  Although, don’t get me started on sport.  They’ll bring anything into the games.  A point I’ll discuss in great detail, probably this Friday or something.  You’ll not be surprised to find out I love that too.

Then you’ve got St Patrick’s Day, a day that we obviously celebrate back home, but to nowhere near the extent as over here.  The same goes for Halloween.  I can’t even remember the last time I dressed up for a party, but I’m pretty certain I’ll end up in a costume this year.

Let’s not even mention Super Bowl Sunday.  That actually makes the list of most observed holidays.  So we can talk about our Auld Firm days, but we aren’t even in the same league here.  It’s just bigger, louder and (arguably) better.

So I guess what I’m trying to say here is that of all the things I’ve observed so far, this is my favourite.  It makes me feel like a kid again.  Makes me want to get involved.  Hats off to you America.  You’ve done yourself proud.

Anyway, this was only meant to be a short one.  I figure the subject will be revisited come Independence Day or sometime similar, when I’ve had more than one or two celebrations to draw from.

I’ll also be putting the finishing touches to my review of Blue Moon Burgers tonight and getting that out as soon as possible.

As always, you know the score, like, follow and share.

I’ll be back soon guys, take it easy…

 

Writing track: Biffy Clyro – Justboy.

Leave a Reply

